Tony Carey

0kommentarer

When I was two years old, my father took me into his arms, and like many others nights, he held me close, put music on and danced with me. The music that would play in the background was epic musicians - Bruce springsteen,  Bryan adams and probably many more´, but most of It.. was a musician of who's music I'd grow up with. Lyrics, melodies and songs that I would learn before I knew what music meant. This man.. Was Tony Carey. As I got older, I remember still hearing his music in the car or from my fathers office.. and a little here and there and everytime I would sing along, completely naturally. And while I grew, so did his music. I didn't only learn the music - I learned the story of lyrics, I saw It In front of me and sometimes while I had a minute in the car, I would listen, close my eyes and imagine everything he sang. This man came to be an inspiration - little did I actually know about him by that time, I mean.. I was to young to care about anything other then Michael Jackson.. Haha, but.. As I really, got older.. The music became personal. Important. And one day, I came home and there he was  - Tony, the man. In person. I probably tried to stay cool.. While he borrowed my bed, which by the way - was a bed that was in my room,filled with posters of Orlando Bloom from both pirates of the caribbean and lord of the rings(SIGH!) - but truthfully It was way cooler then I would ever recognize. I know I didn't say much, but I was observing - taking in every moment and word and his "co-workers" or "friends".. was with as well, and I remember them being big - and very german.. and I tried to be a part of It as much as I could, but yet again - maybe still to young and maybe, I tried to take It a bit to cool, cause I still held myself in the background. I never feelt like I was in the wrong place.. Quite the opposite actually.. I feelt like I was exactly where I was supposed to. And not because of how big he's been. But because of what he's been to me. The difference between me and many others is that I would never see a person a celebertie. I've meet a lot of people in my life, which apparantly has been big (Louise Hoffsten, Dan Hylander, Daniel Lema) and so forth.. and.. I've never actually known them.. Their not really of my generation, so I never spent time on feeling like I've been with someone important.. or huge.. or whatever.. Being a celebertie isn't exactly.. I mean.. It's cool and all, but you know.. There's more to It then meets the eye. I don't really care about it.. I never have. The reason, Tony impressed me, was because of his way of being. He is very jaunty and the same time he is really humble. He has a way of carrying himself that sort of reminds you of an old indian chief..   I remember hearing him sitting in our backyard, talking about old times with - very - very - famous people - people,some people that was so famous.. I sometimes dropped my jaw.. anyway.. It wasn't that he was talking about them, It was the way he talked about them.. He has a way of making It very powerful.. and It's when he picks up a guitarr and everyone is quiet, and he starts to play, very quietly, and he tells his stories.. and everyone Is just in trance. It's something very.. powerful.. about It.. Once again, he tells his stories like an indian chief tell old tribal stories.. He Is very honest in everything he says and you just know, this man.. Has lived his life in a honest way. He might have done a lot, and seen a lot - but he walks like a man with no regrets. At the same time, this is the easiest man on earth - he is so funny and probably one of the worlds most sick people;) haha, but still.. I mean.. this man has so much to him.. and especially for kids - both for his own, but also, for like.. me and my brother. He is always so happy to see us and he spends so much time talking to us while he sees us and for me.. To be so "behind-the-stage" of this mans life.. It Is one of the fue things that.. means more to me then I could explain. But most importantly, I think Tony are one of the fue things my dad and I sort of connect through. Tony and my father are sooooo alike and yet so different.. But they understand eachother in ways people don't understand eachother, hah.. They have a very uniqe relationship and I know my dad knows more about Tony then many others and I know my dad has becomed more of a person because of him. I also think Tony Is someone who my father and I both appriciate.. I mean, when dad tells me things about Tony or when something has happened, we are both just as involved. We get how important he actually Is.. and today, that Is one thing I really do, appriciate. I think, as you get older, you understand better and I understand everythingelse just as clearly and I wish I could have been older so that I could have been a bigger part of It. But to be honest, to be part of It at all - that Is what matters. That Is why music means what It means to me. Music brings people together. And In some twisted way, It brought Tony to our lives. And I can't wait for the day, that I tell my kids about this man. An old rockstar that became a friend.
 
Also.. he has made my father grown and I am glad, that I actually thanked him for this once. I thanked him for how he helps my dad and believes in him and I thanked him for making us a part of It. Because.. For me.. Who has seen how hard my father fights for his music, for what he loves - It has been a long journey, with many "KIDS SHUT UP, I'M RECORDING"..days.. Haha.. and I remember I actually thought that was cool to tell the radiostations one day, but.. So far.. You are the only once I've told. But my father has fought for this for years - and he has had shows where no one turned up or very fue people turned up and.. It's never a joy to see the sadness in your fathers eyes when that happens - or when he plays in a club and people turn their backs to drink their beer and talk.. You know.. I get It. I get why his music Is so important and I have supported him in everyway I can... and I wish that I could get him to play infront of thousands and thousands of people, like Tony did.. but I think.. The day that Tony told him to tune his gitarr, was the day that my dad got to be on stage with him, was the day Tony replaced all of those thousands of people. He had light in his eyes when he played with him and he had a light in his eyes, when they laughed together. And that.. Is the best thing Tony has ever, given me. I am a very proud daughter, of my father. And for Tony to see my dad and his music, that.. Is the biggest thing that could've happen.
 
What I also think Is.. very, very impressive about Tony Is that.. he doesn't have those thousands of people in the audience anymore. If he's lucky, he gets up to a hundred. Concerts aren't the same anymore. But I remember one of the first performances he gave, here in a club in Malmö, which there might have been between 60-150 people through the night and everyone sat with their faces towards Tony. Everyone sat quietly, listening to the explanations Tony had for each song and then we sat and soaked It In - I remember having goosebumps for he actually played the song I asked for and he only played It that one time, through the whole tour. He makes people laugh, he takes them on walkabouts in his songs. He makes them listen to the music.. and that Is when you succed as a musician.. and that Is who I saw my dad becoming.
 
Eventually, Tony wasn't the only rock'star in our lives. All the sudden my dad goes live on KB - alone with an acoustic guitarr he was an opening act for Rainbow. One of the biggest rockbands in history. It was probably not the biggest success, but for me to see the drummer go up to father and say "This was really good Anders!" and see how they appriciate him made me realise, that he wouldn't need the thousands of people in the audience.. He needs the fue people that understands music to hear him. They are once that matters. 
 
It's also really wierd - I haven't known rainbow, more then through tony either.. but.. These are old rockstars, old men, with histories - with real, epic, rock'n'roll stories that all the sudden eat dinner in our living room.. and that.. live in a trailer in Hollviken while they are on the road .. Humble, kind and fun peole. People that we went shopping with - Joe and I actually picked out a really cool leatherjacket to eachother. And everytime I look at my white and first leatherjacket, I remember going into that store with them. The only more sick thing than that - Is that the day after Joe Is on stage on Sweden Rock and he has the jacket on the we choose. There he Is. 30.000 people in the audience. And the jacket that we pointed out. I mean, today - that Is a really effin cool. Haha. And that's what I mean.. Yeah, I may be a lover of their music as well, but I am not in the audience - I am behind the stage, with a name they know and a face they'll remember and for me to know that - Is the one thing that makes me the best of what I am. I am glad I am me.. I am glad for this life. Who else, has such memories? Who else, can appriciate them as I? Who gets to experience this?
 
And I think It's now, that I appriciate It more then ever. As I looked back the other day to rainbows history, you realise what a life they've had. They have been some of the biggest and they have some of the most epic names in their stories. And I can only imagine what of kind of live they've actually lived.And then I think about It.. and all the sudden.. I'm a part of that history.. Maybe not in the most epic histories, but still, I'm there. And how cool isn't that? Haha!
 
Considering how I've grown.. I feel like I'm ready to step In - I'm ready to be more then the background. I wanna be in what's left, you know. From now on,  I am to make myself a part of everything we have left, and not only appriciate It, but live In It.
 
Cause that's when, I feel like I am exactly where I belong.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(Originalbandet Raibow, 84 & the one and only - Joe - sångare! Haha,galet!)
 
 
 
(&Sweden Rock..*Host*Jackan!Host*.. Haaha!)
 
 
 &Titta vad jag lyckades hitta.. Min personliga favorit; Cold war kids.. live.. till &med min min pappa;) Varsågoda.. Njut!   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmpuWtl_KLM
 
 

Kommentera

Publiceras ej